The (Short) Road to Warmachine Weekend

Myself and two friends have decided to make the trek to St. Louis this year for Warmachine Weekend!

So you know that that means:  PAINTING SPREEEEEEE!

I’ve chronicled last time what my new Menoth paint scheme will be, now it’s time to get to the nitty-gritty.  With my recent move winding down, I’ll have more time to devote back to painting.  But this post really isn’t about painting, it’s about the lists I’ll be bringing and why.

Read on True Believers!

List 1: Sevy1

Grand Scrutator Severius (*6pts)
* Redeemer (6pts)
* Judicator (18pts)
* Reckoner (8pts)
Vessel of Judgement (9pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)
Vassal Mechanik (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

My first list is an oldie but a goodie.  It’s been distilled down a bit since its original incarnation back at Templecon 2012, but it’s still that ol’ “artillery-line” goodness.  This is my mass infantry/all comers list.  POW 10 blast damage is everywhere and I can saturate the field with gunfire and rockets, while marching up to clean up the remains.

The clock is an ever present weakness of this list though.

Waitaminute!  You usually don't go in this list!
Waitaminute! You usually don’t go in this list!

List 2: Kreoss3

Intercessor Kreoss (*5pts)
* Blood of Martyrs (9pts)
* Fire of Salvation (9pts)
* Vanquisher (8pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Deliverer Sunburst Crew (Leader and 2 Grunts) (3pts)
Exemplar Vengers (Leader and 4 Grunts) (11pts)
Temple Flameguard (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
* Temple Flameguard Officer & Standard (2pts)
Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord (2pts)
Wracks (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

This is version 3 of this particular Kreoss3 list I’ve been playing around with the past few months.  This list is geared towards the heavy ARM skew lists that seem to be en vogue at the moment, and to Colossal packing lists.

In it, I have two heavies that can be MAT9 or MAT12 and POW 22! On top of that Fire of Salvation gets Dispel: so sorry Stormwall, that’s going to be dice +3 on ya.

Now, you may notice the odd inclusion: The Sunburst Cannon.  Despite having a cool name, it is artillery and therefore TEH WORZT THING EVAR!!1! But I love it.  I’ve never felt like I’ve wasted 3 points, it’s just such a reliable Warpath trigger.  You move it up turn1 and then let RAT 7, RNG 16 do the rest.

Always a fave.
Always a fave.

List 3: Thyra

Thyra, Flame of Sorrow (*6pts)
* Reckoner (8pts)
Avatar of Menoth (11pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)
Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & 2 Honor Guard (4pts)
High Exemplar Gravus (5pts)
Initiate Tristan Durant (3pts)
* Redeemer (6pts)
Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan (2pts)
The Wrack (3 wracks) (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

This last list is a bit of a dark horse.  I admit, it’s the list I have the least amount of practice with.  I’m going with this list as my anti-Hordes list.  And believe me I can make it a whole more anti-Hordes, but decided to show some restrain in order to make it a decently functioning list.

I haven’t gotten enough games in yet with this one to know for sure if it works the way I want it to, but stay turned!


 

The big thing is getting it all painted!  By my count, that’s going to be some 66 total models between the three lists in 2 months!

Welp, time to buckle down…

7 thoughts on “The (Short) Road to Warmachine Weekend”

  1. Ron I have a bunch of stuff nicely painted you can use. I’d recommend you make a list of everything you need. Then if I have it, you can put those models at the bottom of your to do list, so if you run out of time or steam you can fall back on what I can lend.

    1. Yeah, I highly doubt I’ll be able to do 1 model a day and keep it the quality I want. So I’m basically just getting the models that need to be done (ie assembled) and worrying about the rest later.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

