Quick Base Pic & Tutorial!

The last post didn’t really show off the base inserts that came with the Kickstarter so here’s a better shot.

Quick, fast, and easy. Also not too bad on the eyes if I say so myself...
Quick, fast, and easy. Also not too bad on the eyes if I say so myself…

These were very easy to paint:

  1. Basecoat in VMA Gungrey
  2. I washed various parts in different washes, all from Secret Weapon. I used Dark Sepia, Blue, Yellow Snow, Green, Armor Wash, and Amethyst.  Don’t wash the entire model in the same wash, vary when you place the different colors.
  3. Drybrush VGC Silver.
  4. Finally I dusted Earth pigments all of them, again from Secret Weapon, this time their Dry Earth Pigment kit.  I affixed the pigments with 93% alcohol (the highest % my corner drugstore sold).  Basically, you let a brush soak it up and then just let it flow all of the base.  It’ll dry in about an hour or so.
  5. Finished them off by painting the lips black.  I went back and forth on whether to keep the purple bases, but ultimately felt the black lips made the rest of it ‘pop’ more.
6 thoughts on “Quick Base Pic & Tutorial!”

    1. I affixed it with alcohol (93% which is the highest CVS sells). I’ll add that to the post. Pigments are something I really like but am struggling on how best to utilize them! So it’s a lot of experimenting right now.

      And thanks for the compliment!

      1. I also got really good results with AK Pigment Fixer. It really fixes stuff in place (rubbing over it with your thumb or even nail will not lift it off, obviously if you go crazy it will) and doesn’t alter the appearance of the pigment, that is its texture remains intact.I think it is basically Enamel paint without pigment and dries matt.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

