Initiate Tristan Durant, a WIP

Initiate Tristan Durant & repainting my Menites.

So I decided to stop putting it off and just dive back into Menoth. It’s been like 6 months at least since I’ve seriously touched a Menoth model (painting wise, I’ve been playing them this whole time), since I decided at the start of 2014 that I would indeed repaint and rebase them. Hence why updates on this site have been fairly few as compared to other years.

A little crazy sure, but I came to the realization that I just hate my current scheme. After staring at them on table and in countless pics, I just can’t take them anymore. They look so…unfinished. Which is frustrating as I know how much time I’ve spent even getting them to their current state. And I’m just tired of painting gold.  For as much as I’ve painted it, I still can’t get it to look good enough.

Reznik @ 35pt
Fully painted, and yet so blah to me now…

 

How’d I get to this new scheme?  Read on…

I just couldn't get it to this level or enough to my satisfaction.
I just couldn’t get it to this level or enough to my satisfaction.

I originally was drawn back to my gold & red theme a la Adeptus Custodes or Minotaurs that I constantly fawn over.  But wait, why this if I just said I was tired of painting gold? I was hoping to find a process that I could reproduce quickly and with good quality.  But unfortunately multiple test runs proved…unfruitful. Seriously, my paint collection now includes like 10 or so golds/coppers/bronzes from I think 4 different paint lines…

So once more, I went back to the drawing board.  Searching the internet also provided little help in finding something new and different as most schemes I found were some variation of the studio scheme with one color changed, like red or teal instead of Sanguine.  I knew  I didn’t want to do black or white armor again. I feel the black armor is 95% to blame for my feelings toward the current scheme.

Although I do love this.
Although I do love this.

I began turning to other sources.  How were knights represented in other mediums like video games and movies? How about in history, with the Crusades and the like? Soon an idea began to form in my head around this. Why not go the opposite direction and do a more realistic take rather than the bright hues of the typical WM/H schemes? It was an idea I began to like more and more. Then it hit me. One of my fave series had exactly what I was looking for this whole time: the Templar Order in Dragon Age.

So many parallels here.
So many parallels here.

Realistic plate armor, touches of my favorite color (red), and a fairly similar uniform setup in general. I had found my inspiration. Not exactly sure how I am going to translate this to warjacks just yet. Maybe by making the warjacks predominately red with gold trim and black details? I think it might look cool to have them not be exactly like the infantry, although this scheme would be fairly easy to paint on them…

 So how about a better look at Tristan?

Once I put the finishing touches on Tristan, next up will be the Temple Flameguard. They look like they’ll be relatively easy to paint and they’ve become a bit of a linchpin in my lists as of late. plus, more painted models on the table when gaming!


 

Now the new base…well I like where it’s going, but I still feel it’s missing…something.  I’m just not sure what that something is. It looks unfinished to my eyes, but I’m not sure how to finish it. I could add some tufts here or there?  Maybe paint some cracks on?


 

Any comments or critiques you have on the model and/or base, I’m wide open to! Sound off in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Initiate Tristan Durant & repainting my Menites.”

  1. I really like the paint job and the scheme. I agree with you that the base needs something. It looks good so far, but adding something would help make it pop. You could use a couple of tufts, though I would make them small and around one of the crevices. You could try some weathering powder to give it a little bit of a dusty feel. Almost make it look like blowing sand, or grit. You could even put more detail on the stones. It would depend on how much more time you wanted to put into the base itself, but an alternate color or border on some of the bricks would help break it up. Just my two cents.

    1. Thanks for the feedback! I’m thinking tufts might be the way to go too. Maybe paint some cracks around them so it looks like they’re peeking out through the stone.

    1. That would be cool too, but I haven’t been able to find columns small enough.

      On the huge based models like the Judicator, this is definitely happening as I have a Secret Weapon base and some of their columns for them.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

