[Infinity] Tohaa’s First Tournament

I’ve been on an Infinity kick as of recently.  Unfortunately getting a game in is hard when I already have my Wednesday nights devoted to Warmachine and the guys meet for Infinity on Thursdays. It’s hard to squeeze in both and be out two nights a week (technically it’d make it four nights as Tuesdays are Trivia night and Fridays are currently Game of Thrones night, but I digress).

So when Certs announced a tournament in May and I saw that there were going to also be two other new players, I jumped in. Mostly as a way to at least get a couple of games in.

The event was a 300pt, 1 list, YAMS format “Draw 6, Share 2, Keep 2”.  Having only played a handful of Infinity games, I marched on with my models in hand to give out some free wins to the other attendees.

My only hope that I at least semi-make my opponents work for it…

Here’s the list I brought with me:

20140518-221317-79997192.jpg

TOHAA
────────────────────────────

GROUP 1 (Regular: 10/Irregular: 0):

GORGOS Spitfire, 2 Flammenspeer, Nanopulser +1 Chaksa Periferical / Viral CCW. (2 | 87)
-CHAKSA PERIFERICAL Light Shotgun, Flash Grenades / Pistol, Knife.
MAKAUL Heavy Flamethrower, Zero-V Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Viral CCW. (15)
MAKAUL Heavy Flamethrower, Zero-V Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Viral CCW. (15)
MAKAUL Heavy Flamethrower, Zero-V Smoke Grenades / Pistol, Viral CCW. (15)
ECTROS HMG, Nanopulser / Pistol, CCW. (2 | 53)
GAO-RAEL Spitfire / Pistol, CCW. (1.5 | 38)
SAKIEL Viral Combi Rifle, Swarm Grenades / Pistol, Knife. (26)
SAKIEL Viral Combi Rifle, Swarm Grenades / Pistol, Knife. (26)
KAMAEL Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (12)
KAMAEL Lieutenant Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (12)

5.5 SWC | 299 Points
ARMY CODE: eNqzMFRVNbK0VDXVM1U1UzNUM6yxwCBN1YyApLGaCZA0QiINwbKGakBVqmUmAFEoEE4=


 Reasoning behind bringing this?

Well, the Gorgos & his Chaksa bro were freshly painted, so they were in no matter what (amazing criteria I know). Makauls have been super useful in all the games I’ve played, performing better than their cheap points would suggest.  Plus their smoke grenades are useful for covering the Gorgos.  Sakiels are awesome, viral guns are awesome.  Love the Ectros model and I’ve learned that HMGs are good from my opponents.  The Gao-Rael brings a visor for that sort of thing and another heavy-ish gun.  The Kamaels for extra orders and extra Lieutenant options.

It sounds like I know what I’m talking about right?

I have no idea what I'm doing.
Pretty much.

In all honesty, I was winging it.  The only thing I knew I wanted, was to keep my list at 10 orders.  My skills just aren’t at the multiple group stage yet.

GAME TIME YO!

I typically deployed in 3 triads plus the Gorgos in reserve. I had a Makaul in each Triad in order to maximize Zero-V smoke saturation. I put the Goa-Rael with my Lt so that he could use his MSV2 for camo stuff in case.  And yes, those are all my WM tokens.  I ordered some Infinity stuff from Warsen.al that I should have soon.

 Game 1 vs Combined Army

These things were swarming me!
These things were swarming me!

My first game was against CA with 8 irregular Tyranid  looking things backed by 8 Morat and other things.   Those genestealer things were way across the board by turn 2, so I struggled to stem the tide.  I did eventually kill them all, plus some Morats, but ended up with not a lot of killpoints because those things are hella cheap.  Eventually I was tabled when Ko Dali arrived in my back field.  I did manage to get 2 objective points though.

Game 2 vs JSA

tohaa 1st tournament (4)
I was much more aggressive this game. in the end only the Triad on the left survived, completing two objectives.

I learned that Shinobu is no joke when she sliced my Gorgos in twain with a single attack.  Eh, I wasn’t even mad.  One, because it’s just not my personality to get tilted, and two, because I went in knowing that some crazy-ness like this was going to hit me from out of left field (I’m actually surprised this was the only instance all day).  Anyway, I needed a 12 (IIRC) or better to survive and rolled a 3. Eh, whatcha gonna do?  Even with that early lose, I was able to complete more objective points than last game.  I narrowly lost 5-4.

Game 3 vs Tohaa

I was originally going to face ALEPH, but the guy I just played, played with his opponent normally, so we swapped.  I didn’t mind because, hey, I’m not winning anything.

The dice really weren’t on my side this game.  Even with Burst +1, I was still losing firefights and failing ARM saves left and right.  I did make a mistake in deploying my Gorgos so that a Gao-Rael sniper could see him after making a move.  It took his entire turn but eventually he was able to kill it.  I couldn’t pass a dodge check to save my (his) life.  One thing that I realized on the drive home though, is that instead of trying to dodge, I could have tried to shoot him with the Flammenspeer because it would have hit the Gao-Rael, Aelis Keesan, and a Chaksa with the template. Of course…if it hit…

I forgot to get pics of this game 😦

Things I learned…

  1. I gotta learn to deploy better.  I just don’t threat enough first turn with AROs.
  2. Position myself better for AROs.
  3. Actually do some AROs! Coming from the symmetrical world of Warmachine, this is the toughest thing I think.

All in all, I had a great time and definitely learned a lot.  It definitely made me hungry for more Infinity, so…mission accomplished?  I was right in that playing with objectives/scenarios, I enjoyed the game much more than just straight up deathmatches.

Funny enough, for these games being my 5th, 6th, and 7th ever of Infinity and my first in months, at this point level, and with YAMS, I didn’t finish dead last.  I was NEXT to dead last. I call that a personal victory.

Certs has a bunch more pics and “crunch” here on his site!

Gallery!

9 thoughts on “[Infinity] Tohaa’s First Tournament”

  1. Thanks for coming out!

    That first game was a bit of a tough break. Preta spam is one of the ugliest tactics available in Infinity. They’re very efficient for 5 points, especially with those other nasty Combined units still lurking about behind them.

    Ah well, I’m glad you had a good time. Hope to see you at more tournaments. The next one is on the 15th. ^^

  2. This was a great read. I think tournaments are a fantastic way of learning more about Infinity, in particular all the tricks that are out there. The two that I have been too were a real eye opener anyway!

    1. Agreed! I feel like the mechanics finally “clicked” for me after this weekend. Not that I’m now an Infinity master or anything, but I at least understand more or less what’s going on heh!

      I’m positive I’ll get blindsided by something or another for awhile still, but that’s just miniatures right? ;D

  3. Ho! We’ve got those stacking houses made from MDF at home; they’re awesome terrain. Definitely want to start playing Infinity soon; I only have miniatures but haven’t tried it. Everytime I try to understand it I feel like if i’m being explained spreadsheets. Either that, or Warmachine has spoiled me with its card format.

    1. Haha yeah the card thing is super nice and I definitely miss it when I play! I feel that after these games the mechanics “clicked” for me and what was once complicated is actually fairly simple. Now I still suck at it, but at least I understand it 😀

  4. Nice read through. I am just starting out (have yet to play a game) After a bunch of debate I am also leaning towards Tohaa. I have read through the rules. I think I am understanding things but I will know/learn more my first game.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

