Creating a Custom Caster for Feat of Service: Spell Draft Time

Following up on the heels of Part 1, it’s time to see how I made out in the spell draft!

Now that I have my chassis and initial 25 points I drafted spells with a group of four that included Plarzoid, Demitra, and Chris.  Check out the rules here if you need a refresher, but the gist of it all is that there is a deck of cards with a spell on each.  You start with 8 and pick 1 and pass the rest on.  Goes around in a circle until there are no cards left.

Let’s just right into the draws shall we?

Round 1:

  • Purification
  • Ritual Sacrifice
  • Banishing Ward
  • Razor Wind
  • Psychic Vampire
  • Flesh Eater
  • Deadeye
  • Ghost Walk

Okay. Wow.  Right off the bat, two super heavy hitters in Ritual Sac and Purification.  This made my choices easy and hard at the same time. Banishing Ward is the spell I’ve never cast and Razor Wind is uber meh to take in the first round.

As much as it pained me to give up Ritual Sacrifice, I had to grab Purification, one: as a hate draft and two: I figured most people are going to be gunning to grab the best buffs and upkeeps and this gives me an easy way to deal with it.  But now I also have to be careful about drafting too many upkeeps myself in subsequent draws…

Round 2:

  • Obliteration
  • Backlash
  • Energizer
  • Mobility
  • Mutagenesis
  • Quagmire
  • Tornado

Aargh…to me there wasn’t a clear winner here.  I ultimately went with Quagmire as that’ll help my swordsmen tarpit a bit better.  I really wanted to go with really anything but Obliteration…

Round 3:

  • Snipe
  • Arcane Shield
  • Boundless Charge
  • Fail Safe
  • Incite
  • Stone Skin

This was easy. Finally.  I went with Incite because I want my caster to be up in it, and Incite is great with Legion beasts.

Round 4:

  • Parasite
  • Abuse
  • Malice
  • Skyborne
  • Sure Foot

Oooo…Abuse would be nice on the Scythean or the Soldier (he’d be hitting like a heavy then), plus coupled with Incite damage would be obscene. Skyborne would help my caster’s assassination potential.  But in the end I went with Parasite.  Strange that that one hadn’t been snatched up yet…

Either way it’d make me ARM17 and the affected less likely to survive. Anything.

Round 5:

  • Banishing Ward
  • Razor Wind
  • Flesh Eater
  • Ghost Walk
  • Tornado

Looks like I got my leftovers back.  I should have took Flesh Eater or Razor Wind, but instead I took Ghost Walk.  Stupid me.

Round 6:

  • Backlash
  • Boundless Charge
  • Mobility
  • Stone Skin

Boundless Charge is nice, but I went with Mobility as it’d let me affect all three of my beasts at once.

Backlash could have been nice but with an all weapon master list, Incite, and Parasite I don’t think it’d have the same effect. Might be good for a few plinks of damage onto an opposing caster, but with the damage buffing I have I’m predicting lots of things crumpling under one or two charges.

Round 7:

  • Abuse

Notbad.gif for the reason stated above.

Now what?

At the end of the draft I ended up with:

  • Purification
  • Quagmire
  • Incite
  • Parasite
  • Ghost Walk
  • Mobility
  • Boundless Charge
  • Abuse

Now I have to whittle this down to my Focus/Fury stat – 1.  For me that would be 7-1=6 spells.

I chose:

  • Purification
  • Quagmire
  • Incite
  • Parasite
  • Mobility
  • Abuse

Not bad overall.  True to Legion Warlock form pretty much. Which wasn’t my intention, it was just the way the cards fell to me. Plenty to make my beasts hit like trucks and get up the board.  Quagmire can help with tarpitting (although I would have liked Dash to go along with it at least). Purification to help against too many upkeeps.

Time to wait for June 7th to see how this custom caster shakes out!

 

2 thoughts on “Creating a Custom Caster for Feat of Service: Spell Draft Time”

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

