Sorry Makeda...

The Mid-Journeyman League Slump

Sigh…

I was going to try to avoid the slump this year.  I was energized to paint coming into March.  Then I met Skorne.

True to form at the end of our third week of Journeyman, I’ve entered the Mid-League Slump.  This is where you don’t think you’re going to finish painting your army or you’re even going to finish the league.

Three weeks in and the only things I’ve finished painting are a Bronzeback Titan, Marketh, an Ancestral Guardian, eHexy (well…almost), and maaaybe three Praetorian Swordsmen.  So if I’m being generous that’s seven models in three weeks. Not even double digits.  Last year with Rhyas I was in my homestretch.

Why? Well, I think the basic answer is that Skorne just isn’t hitting me, either in my painting parts nor in my gaming jones.  I even have two of my local Tyrants taking me under their wing to teach me the ways.  I’m not going to give up, because that’s just not me, but after the league I’m really contemplating putting Skorne up on the chopping block.  For the aforementioned reasons and because of some new distractions I’ll be writing about soon.

We still have three weeks to go and I am currently in third place in the game point standings (despite losing every single one of my games, weird), hopefully I can pull out a 180 on all counts.

UPDATE: I was not able to pull a 180, and decided to cut my losses.  The Skorne forces have been sold 😦  Sometimes you just can’t swim against the current.

4 thoughts on “The Mid-Journeyman League Slump”

  1. That’s one of the other benefits of a slow grow league.. force yourself to try something different but not make a huge investment if it’s just not your style. Could also be the style of lists. I’m not familiar with Skorne, but I know as Trolls, Beast armies can be really solid, but they just don’t work for me.

  2. new distractions? I’m curious.

    I think part of the benefit of a journeyman league for veteran players is to get a feel for what you like as well as what you don’t like. Playing a single game with a single caster isn’t a good enough sample size, but 6 weeks I think should be enough to let someone know if faction X is what they are looking for at a given moment. It’s a bummer that the painting hasn’t been going well. One suggestion I’d have would be to pick a minion/merc model that works for Skorne and really go to town with it. Whether its Rorsh and Brine or Saxon Orick or Orin Midwinter, all will work for your Mennoth games and may lead you to discover something new when playing them (like Kreoss3 can cast ignite on R&B for mobile tricksy heavy that doesn’t draw focus from your caster, Thyra can put occultation on Orin Midwinter, Reznik would love to be pathfinder with Saxon). Each of these models would look wicked painted with some homage sculpted details and/or color scheme choices that show off their time in the wasted lands and as mercs/minions it can accentuate that vibe when the color scheme is a little different from your core army. So it would be time spent well painted in this journeyman regardless of what comes after.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

