[Journeyman 2014] Makeda and me.

Two weeks into our Journeyman, how has Makeda & the Exalted Court theme force been treating me?

Not well at all actually.

After five games, I’m not sure I can make this list work in its current incarnation.  After discussing a bit with our local Skorne guru Gary (who readily handed me my fourth loss with a pMakeda that does the Mammoth right), we decided that the Mammoth is the weakest link in the list.  But first a quick look at my games so far, bite-sized batrep style!

Game 1 vs Sytherion T4

First time out with Makada3. Sort of impressed. My Mammoth got killed in the second turn, so I’m glad it wasn’t painted yet.

Fave moment was probably giving out the Bronzeback whoopin’ instead of being on the receiving end of them.

I was up 3-0 on scenario and then through a bunch of mistakes on my end (forgetting to cut for FURY, forgetting to feat, second guessing my assassination run), Makeda went splat.

Lose.

Game 2 vs Sytherion T4 (the same as above)

Second game and I feel I actually did worse with placing Makeda. I don’t remember much other than my army dying under a hailstorm of gun fire.

The mammoth made it to the end this time though, and killed like 2 heavies to boot. Makeda didn’t.

Lose.

Game 3 vs Kaelyssa

Had a pretty glorious feat turn (was able to get something like 10 fury on Makeda and Eliminator around). However missed a crucial roll with the Bronzeback which caused me to not be able to get a crucial eliminator which caused me to not get my cray-cray assassination on Kaelyssa with Makeda.

But absolute favorite moment was after that turn. Patrick charged a fully loaded Hydra into Makeda’s back arc, but a Mammoth was there to counterblast…and throw the jack 9″ away!

But my opponent Patrick’s dice were EN FUEGO last night as all his charges at the end were 6,5,4 on damage. In fact, I’m pretty sure a 5 or 6 were a part of all his rolls last night.

Lose.

Game 4 vs pMakeda

Local Skorne wizard Gary has been coaching me for about three games in the ways of the Tyrant.  This was teaching moment against a list that did the Mammoth right.

My Praetorian Swordsmen actually did a good job of mucking things up this games, and even got to get some sidesteps off.  Up to this point, they’ve basically just been bullet catchers.  And not even good ones as Makeda3 basically says eff you guys and gives them nothing.

I did my best but could get through a wall of ARM 22 Cetrati that Makeda was hiding behind, and Makeda3 received a Mammoth fist to the face and was one-shotted.

Lose.

Game 5 vs eSkarre

This was a baaad matchup from the start.  Satyxis immune to blast damage. Banes that couldn’t be utilized by Eliminator.  After a failed assassination on a post-feat Makeda who was sitting on 8 FURY (she was battle-driven too) with Deathjack and a ball breaking eSkarre feat turn (would have been all she wrote if she didn’t feat), Makeda couldn’t end Deathjack.  I distinctly remember rolling 1,2,2 on damage three times in a row. I may have been able to pull something out had that gone differently, but alas…

Lose.

0-5. PERFECT RECORD WHOOOO

So what’s the problem?  Makeda3 does jack for her army.  Skorne armies want something.  Not enough beasts to take advantage of her feat turn and the low model count overall makes it easy to focus fire my beasts off the table, further exasperating the issue.  Makeda3 is not doing enough work throughout the game, instead relying on an amazing feat turn to get things done.  And quite frankly, I’m not enjoying the struggle to figure her out in this current list setup.

Solutions?  Dropping the Mammoth for starters.  Second is dropping the theme force.  I know when I’ve been licked.

She absolutely NEEDS her homeboy Molik Karn, who isn’t oddly enough, a part of her theme force.  Makeda wants Fate Walker to save her bacon and retreat back after doing some work on the front lines.  Molik Karn is Molik Karn, but in addition he can really take advantage of her feat turn.

An Archidon would give Sprint which would be just as good.  Also a really great feat turn model. And finally a Krea for some anti-shooting help.  I’d probably swap out the Swordsmen for Incindarii for some shooting game too.  Basically the new list would look like this:

Points: 50/50
Makeda and the Exalted Court (*2pts)
* Basilisk Krea (4pts)
* Archidon (7pts)
* Bronzeback Titan (10pts)
* Molik Karn (11pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
Cataphract Incindiarii (Leader and 5 Grunts) (9pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)

Drastic change for sure and not one that would be wise (or even doable rules-wise) in the league.  I don’t own the 3 new beasts I want to swap in for instance. This list would be a lot easier to paint to completion though as it’s easy for me to focus on beasts and get them to a really good level quickly.  Those damn Swordsmen are killing me and may ultimately be my downfall in this league.

What I may do and I’m currently running it by our PG is switching to my second list:

Points: 50/50
Lord Arbiter Hexeris (*6pts)
* Cyclops Raider (5pts)
* Mammoth (20pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
Cataphract Incindiarii (Leader and 5 Grunts) (9pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Praetorian Swordsmen (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
* Praetorian Swordsmen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Extoler Soulward (2pts)
Mortitheurge Willbreaker (2pts)

Much more synergy here and a caster that does more for his army (and is more flexible overall).  It’d be more models to paint and it doesn’t use the Bronzeback Titan I just spent 4 days slaving over, but sometimes you gotta cut your losses.

We’ll see how next week goes.

Oh and February Paint Targets are due today!

One thought on “[Journeyman 2014] Makeda and me.”

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

