Journeyman 2014 Rumblings

Our Gaming group’s annual Journeyman League is upon me once again…This year’s league is a lot earlier in the year per request and the focus has shifted to a more “competitive” minded league.

The league formats, they are a-changin’

While a huge issue I see with Journeyman, even though I love it so, is the issue of burnout.  Like I’ve said and most of you who have participated in one before can attest, it quickly becomes a numbers game where if you can’t keep up, you just about auto-lose and drop out a quarter of the way in.  Quality can also slip, something I also really don’t like.  I don’t know about you, but I’m not dumping investing all this time and effort into simply half ass painting my toy soldiers.  THIS IS SERIOUS BUSINESS YALL.

Our local PG Plarzoid has taken some of my advice to heart this year and structured the league around my ‘Paint a 50 pt army’ suggestion. He’s tasked each of our players to come up with a 50 point army to paint.  No deviating from that list. No having to paint multiple casters or units just to get points to win.  You paint your army, you play your games.  Simple.  It’s a formula that has brought me great success in the past, which I’ll get to in the minute.

“But Ron want are you going to be doing for the journeyman?”

I hear you ask across the void of tubes, and ignore the fact that the giant image of Makeda probably gave it away already. Yes, I’ll be doing Skorne from this year’s Journeyman.  Out of nowhere.

Rhyas - Deal with it

Yes, Skorne.  Rhyas seems to be the gift that keeps on giving as not only did I win our local painting competition with that army, I also won Lost Hemisphere’s Most Epic Extreme Unloved Model Challenge 2013 with her.

And how was I rewarded?

GDAYBLOOOOOOOOOOKKKKKKKKKKKEEEEE!!!

AAARGGHHH
AAARGGHHH

You monster!!  How are you going to just reward me with a Mammoth?!  You know I’m going to have to paint it!!  And if I paint it, you know I’m going to have to play it!  I had no intention of ever getting in Sko–oooooo Makeda3’s theme force makes them 2 points cheaper you say?! Next you’re going to tell me a friend is looking to offload some Skorne quickly. Oh he is?  Is it the models for this list idea I have? It is? …Well crap.  End Scene.

“To shreds you say…”

And so ends the saga of how I ended up with Skorne for this year’s Journeyman.  Here’s the list I’ll be rolling with:

Faction: Makeda3 – Armageddon
Points: 50/50
Tiers: 4
Makeda and the Exalted Court (*2pts)
* Bronzeback Titan (10pts)
* Mammoth (18pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
* Aptimus Marketh (3pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Praetorian Swordsmen (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
* Praetorian Swordsmen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Ancestral Guardian (3pts)

  • Tier 1: Makeda & the Exalted Court gain Advance Move.
  • Tier 2: Marketh and Ancestral Guardians begin with one soul token.
  • Tier 3: +1 to starting roll.
  • Tier 4: Huge bases are -2 point cost.

All benefits I would consider “good”.  How good is yet to be seen, but another army that screams to be played aggressively and wants to go first much like my Rearguard.

24 models total.  Should be doable right?  The league is starting on February 17th and everything has been assembled save for the Mammoth (he’s about 60% there) and one Swordsman who I’m waiting on a bits order for.  I wanted to have a test model to show you guys, but tragedy struck in the form of a broken airbrush compressor.

Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Journeyman 2014 Rumblings”

  1. Hah! That Gdaybloke, always messing things up 😉

    I’ve been interested in getting into Skorne myself, so I’m looking forward to seeing how you do with that list (and Makeda3 generally).

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

