Nephilim Soldier done, Scythean started!

nephilim soldier done 3
Man, I really love this blue.

Just wanted to share the work I was able to do on the Nephilim Soldier last night.  He’s pretty much done at the moment and I’m very happy with the result.  In fact, it’s emboldened me to push on.  This is 5 points down, 45 to go!

Still undecided on what to do as far as basing though.  I did have an idea when I remembered that my mom has one of these hanging up in her house.  I was going to swing by on the weekend anyway, but now I think I’ll also try and get a mold of it made with some insta-mold and then make a cast that I’ll smash to chunks.  Thoughts?

Also, I have some pics of the Scythean I started on.  The first week of the Slow Grow/Journeyman (never know which is the right one to call it) culminates in a 15pt Highlander event, which means I need one of every model type.  I have the Nephilim Soldier as my light, the Scythean as my heavy warbeast (as the other in the list is Typhon and I don’t think characters are permitted), Swordsmen or warmongers (probably Warmongers) as my unit, and either a Shepard or a War chief (probably the War Chief) as my solo.  Rhyas as my warlock of course.

Talkin’ about Ogruns tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Nephilim Soldier done, Scythean started!”

  1. I love the Mesoamerican style, but it doesn’t fit in well with the feel of the Iron Kingdoms. I also think it’d be too busy for bases, unless you were using smaller pieces of the calendar stone as part of the base instead of the whole thing. It’s a good idea though, especially for something like WFB Lizardmen.

    Re: Soldier, have you thought about washing the skin? I’m guessing you did it all with an airbrush and it looks nice as a general highlight, but you’re missing all the little veins and definition in the muscles. A blue wash would make those little details more visible without messing with your overall color too much.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

