Pureblood Warpwolf work in progress shot.

Ghastly?
Ghastly?

This weekend I worked a bit on some of my Circle stuff.  This is more of a pet (eh? eh?) project for me, so I’m not rushing through it and I’m being very particular of my work (more so than usual).

I wanted to share with you all a quick WIP shot of the Pureblood Warpwolf and get your feedback on it.  I’m not sure I 100% like how it came out.  My process was to coat the whole thing in a regal-ish blue, then highlight with P3 Frostbite, then finally with P3 Morrow White.  I was trying to give him a ghostly, icy feel, but I think I over did it on the white.  I also think I should have maybe done a layer in between the blue and frostbite.

What are your thoughts?

I also worked on some bases for them using a basing kit I recently picked up and will review from Secret Weapon, here’s a sneak peek:

Eventually, this will look like a piece of a forest...
Eventually, this will look like a piece of a forest…
5 thoughts on “Pureblood Warpwolf work in progress shot.”

  1. I like the metals on the Pureblood, they look rather crisp and clean. Hard to say on the skin, though in the picture I don’t see much shading at all. Some 2-brush on the muscle bundles will add definition. The top of the leg should, as a whole, be brighter than the sides and bottom, though, so you’ve laid a good groundwork.

    Bring him to the shop, so I can see it in person?

  2. I’m with Brendon, I don’t see much shading/highlighting in the skin at all, although part of that is probably just ’cause of the picture. Your metals on the armor are great! I’m interested to see how the model looks when you finish the loincloth and extras.

  3. You could try a wash to give the skin some shading, or just shade it the old fashioned way. I’ve never had much luck shading down, as opposed to highlighting up, but it’s a solid theory.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

