Saying goodbye to old komrades & the start of something new…

Yes, the time has come to sadly bid adieu to the Motherland…

My Khador has been sitting on the shelf for the past year or so and my interest has waned in them and shifted towards other factions and/or games.  Plus I’m a full fledged Menite now.  So my Khador has hit the chopping block.  After a sale of the whole lot fell through, I’ve begun to piece out the army.  Some is already en route to some local hands, but the others are up for grabs.

If you are interested, you can have a look at the bartertown post here, and either contact me there or here through the form on the this page.

Well, now that the somber part of this post is done, let’s have a look at some new projects I’m starting on.  Shall we?

Perhaps it came from the stars...
Perhaps it came from the stars…

First up, an objective marker I started on.  Terrain is something I’m seriously lacking in (as in I have none) which can lend to some boring looking games as our LGS doesn’t have terrain it can lend or we can use.  It’s usually up to whoever has terrain with them and most of the time, it’s of the felt variety.  Well, I stand on the sidelines no longer!  Something I’ve wanted to do (hopefully as like an event during the Journeyman league when it happens) is have a terrain day to make some nice terrain I can easily lug around and use to spice up the tabletop.  Now, this is just a lowly objective marker…but hey, crawl before you run right?

While cleaning up my modeling stuff this weekend, I found some bits a local had given me waaaaaay back when I started out to use in my basing.  I know it’s a Necron on there (heresy!), but with Cryss coming out, it kinda…maybe…sorta works?  I call this the tinfoil hat objective marker.  It seems that the governments of the Iron Kingdoms don’t want their populace finding out about otherworldly visitors (ooo weeee ooooooooooooooo)!  Wake up sheeple!

Gotta work on the orbs to give them that glow still, then a little bit of flock and viola!

Then things start to get…hairy…

Werewolf Bar Mitzvah: spooky, scary...
Werewolf Bar Mitzvah: spooky, scary…

I’ve started what I think is going to be (is?) the next bandwagon faction of the moment, Circle Orboros.  In other games, I usually play the fast charcters/armies, so I have no idea how Menoth ended becoming my main faction. Circle (and Legion) seem to scratch that itch (puns abound!).  While I do still have my Legion Rearguard army waiting in the wings, I didn’t want to go with Legion as my “main” Hordes faction as I really only like that one specific theme force.  The rest of Legion is alright, but maybe it’s because I’ve played against them so much or maybe it’s because I feel that their lists become “samey”, I just can’t get excited enough to go any further with my Legion collection.

The thing with Circle Orboros is that I love the wolves and Tharn, but hate the constructs.  I know that excludes a fair bit of their warbeasts, but I’m in it for speed!  If I want SPD 4 war-things, I have my Menoth.  I’ve started to gather a small collection, so like I do now for each new army: I create a list that I like on paper and includes the models I think are cool.  Since I now know a lot more about the game than when I started, this isn’t so bad an approach and lends to having a decent-to-great list right from the get-go.

For Circle, I’m actually going to be starting with another theme force, epic Kaya’s Call of the Wild.  Tier 4 of course.  Comprised of models I love the look off and want to play, the benefits are also pretty ace and it requires a relatively small force (the 50pt list I’m shooting for is at the very bottom of this post).

First up is a Warpborn Skinwalker.  These models almost made me switch a long time ago when a local showed me the metal ones he had just started painting.  Now with their AMAZING (looks and rules-wise) UA, the Alpha, I can’t resist any longer!  I’ve been trying a bunch of different techniques on getting the armor just right, but thanks to a post I made on the painting forums which was answered by a user that pretty much gave me exactly what I looking for, I’m finally happy with what I see (check it on the shoulder pad).  What are your thoughts so far?

...boys becoming men, men becoming wolves...
…boys becoming men, men becoming wolves…

Thanks for reading and make sure to sound off in the comments section, I love reading them!

Here is the list that I’m aiming for initially:

Faction: epic Kaya – Call of the Wild
Points: 50/50
Tiers: 4
Kaya the Moonhunter & Laris (*3pts)
* Razorwing Griffon (5pts)
* Feral Warpwolf (8pts)
* Pureblood Warpwolf (8pts)
* Warpwolf Stalker (9pts)
Druids of Orboros (Leader and 5 Grunts) (7pts)
* Druid of Orboros Overseer (2pts)
Shifting Stones (2pts)
* Stone keeper (1pts)
Warpborn Skinwalkers (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
* Warpborn Alpha (3pts)

5 thoughts on “Saying goodbye to old komrades & the start of something new…”

  1. Looks great, if you want to make some terrain the offer is still on the table. Shoot me an email and will set up a time. take care.

  2. Sad to see you leave Khador. I truly loathe eKaya, so this stings even more. 😛
    I’ll be checking out Cyriss for a little myself as Khador is the first and only army I have for any platform(being only a year old into Wargaming).
    The Skinwalkers are coming along nicely! Can’t wait to see the rest of your work,. Always well done.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

