Templecon 2013 Hardcore List v2…

Templecon 2013
The countdown is ever looming…

After some playtesting with the Hardcore list I outline in an earlier post which used pSev and a lot of discussion and spitballing of ideas, I decided to tweak my list a bit.

I found that it was indeed a very potent list, but not the most friendly for a timed format.  It packed an abundance of AOEs, which just ate away at my clock.  At the NOVA Open, the clock was my greatest enemy as the only losses my eKreoss suffered were because I clocked myself.  I really want to avoid this situation again.  If I lost, I want it to be because I was outplayed, not out attrition-ed with the clock.

So the first of the changes is a big one this late in the game…a warcaster swap…

Slow grow/Journeyman battleboxes!
“Bow or Burn. Either way, there will be one less heretic today.”

I decided to swap to pKreoss instead of pSev.  Don’t get me wrong it isn’t because pSev isn’t a good caster, because you’d be a fool to think that, but in my list, he was really just a focus battery for the jacks, only casting Defender’s Ward and Eye of Menoth, and then fully loading the warjacks each turn.  Now this isn’t the bad thing, which brings me to my next change…

I decided to drop the Redeemer.  It’s range and power under Eye are great, and the accuracy wasn’t too big of an issue as I expected since it usually aimed most turns.  The problem was that the list overall was very AOE heavy.  It was able to put out 8-9 AOEs a turn with great POW (which is normally awesome), but the deviations and all the blast damage just ate away at my clock despite my best efforts (multiple die rolls at a time, not rolling every blast damage, etc).  I also had to drop since pKreoss had one less warjack point than pSev, which left me with a 5 point gap.  I decided to fill that gap with Daughters of the Flame.  I use them mostly for interference (I plan on cycling Defender’s Ward between them (DEF 17!) and the Errants (ARM 18!)), but they can also be flexible as a second or third wave assassins.  On knocked down targets, my biggest issue with them that I run into (besides passing command checks) is fixed as they now autohit.  This can be great on warcasters and warlocks alike, or even assisting in wiping the infantry of the opposing army off the table.

This is the new, version 2, Templecon Hardcore list:

Points: 50/50
High Exemplar Kreoss (*5pts)
* Judicator (18pts)
* Reckoner (8pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Vessel of Judgement (9pts)
Daughters of the Flame (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)
Vassal Mechanik (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

The same idea remains, except now, I’m more posed for a crazy feat-fueled assassination run.  Or at least hopefully net some victory points.  While I think pKreoss’ feat has lost some of it’s effectiveness in this post-Colossals meta (as in it doesn’t effect them at all), it is still a pretty devastating feat.

What do you think of the new list?  Any improvements or suggestions I’m completely open to!  Sound off in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Templecon 2013 Hardcore List v2…”

    1. Haha yea…he’s great and everything, but he’s so expensive points-wise. He’s actually probably my least played piece in my collection :\ I should really change that…

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

