Road to Templecon 2013: Getting my Hardcore list ready…

templacon 2013 logo
Couldn’t find a better pic…

I’m going to Templecon 2013!

Last year I didn’t go because I was just getting into the game and didn’t even have 35 points yet, plus what I did have was barely put together or painted.  Oh what a difference a year makes…I think this hobby has actually fully bloomed into an addiction, but I digress…

Back to Templecon!  I’ve signed up for the Hardcore, and two of the midnight madness style events.  Sadly, Blood, Sweat, and Tiers (an event I really enjoy) was full 😦  I’m also still looking for a third for the team tournament.

But this post is going to focus on a bit of theorymachine and my plans for the Hardcore tourney, which is an event I’ve never actually taken part in.  I’ve never had a fully painted viable 50 point army yet (although I could field a fully painted 50 point list), so that is the first challenge.  The next challenge is actually myself.  I’ve recently been trying to shed my “whatevs” attitude towards playing and gaining a more competitive edge.  So far my average tournament record is 1-3.  I aim to change this.

But how?

First let’s start with the list I’m thinking of bringing to Hardcore, and then let’s break it down a bit.  I’m going to try and do my best whitestar333 impression…

Points: 50/50
Grand Scrutator Severius (*6pts)
* Redeemer (6pts)
* Judicator (18pts)
* Reckoner (8pts)
Vessel of Judgement (9pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)
Vassal Mechanik (1pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

"Praise Menoth and pass the rocket ammunition!"
“Praise Menoth and pass the rocket ammunition!”

First is the warcaster choice.  I’m going with the old man, pSev.  He’s more of a spell slinger than I like (I tend to like the more aggressive casters), but he is only really there to facilitate the rest of the army.  I’m not big on his feat as he’s usually too far back for me to make any good use out of it.  Of course I type that knowing full well that the last two games I’ve lost with him we because I forgot to feat period.  Total amateur hour (Note to self: Don’t do that at the Hardcore).  No, pSev is all about the spell list.  Like many Menite casters, his list is a varietal toolbox of utility.  Let’s hit the highlights: Defender’s Ward (14/18 Errants, yes please), Vision (ignoring a damage roll is never a bad thing), and oh, just a little spell called Eye of Menoth.  I’m sure you realize that a +1 attack and damage buff, across the board no less, is NBD.

Let’s talk Warjacks!

Welcome to the Cathedral of Ass-Kickery...
My body is ready…

First up is the big man himself.  No I don’t own this guy yet.    Normally I’d be sad about that, but with this being the holidays, I’m actually quite okay with it.  Gives me time to cool the wallet, but by Templecon he should be in my grubby mitts and painted.  I’ve heard people say that he is the least interesting Colossal and I kinda agree when you look at his rules (I personally think he is the best looking).  But that doesn’t mean that he isn’t good. Sure he’s no Stormwall, but what he brings is usable by just about any Menite warcaster in almost equal measure.  The sprays are the only thing I find meh, but that’s mostly due to their range, I will never turn down continuous fire or the opportunity to spread it.

His rockets are a novelty that will take care of infantry with it’s secondary deviations, otherwise he is there to move up at a glacial pace.  Between him and the Redeemer, I’ll be carpet bombing the enemy out of existence.  Then I’ll move up and smash them in with MAT 9 ‘jacks.

Redeemer and Reckoner

What no Blessing of Vengeance?  Nay, I’m going with the Redeemer instead.  I may change my mind after some more playtesting, but the Redeemer is more flexible for what I want to accomplish.  Even with that abysmal RAT (same as Judicator on the rockets).  The choir and Eye of Menoth are there to help them out with that (standing still with Eye of Menoth brings them up to a whopping RAT 4, 6 with Hymm of Battle up.).  It still won’t be great but the blast damage will be nothing to sneeze at, plus all the rockets even at the crappy RAT can threaten larger threats like warjacks and beasts and even Colossals with direct hits.  RAT 6 doesn’t look so bad when your targets are around DEF 10.

Enough as been said about the Reckoner everywhere.  In my list, he is the (heavy) spot remover.

Vessel of Judgement

Vessel of Judgement
I want a unit of the guy pulling the Vessel…

Sweet Menoth this thing is awesome on the table.  Since getting him assembled, I’ve included in every single list I’ve played because it is just that good!  I’m not even sure what role it fills, but I love the flexibility of it.  I just have to remember to cast my miracles…The Mechanik is there to make sure he can keep doing his thang as well as making sure I can apply boosts liberally.

The remainder of my list is Exemplar Errants.  These guys are my favorite tarpit, made better with Defender’s Ward.  I love the combined arms approach they bring along with a couple of extra tricks like pathfinder, quick work, blessed, and spell ward.  These guys are almost OP on paper.

So there you have, my Hardcore list v1.1 in a nutshell.  Over the coming weeks I going to be getting in a ton of games with it to make sure I have all the timings and activations down, as all those AOEs worry me.  But I think it is balanced out by the overall low model count and lack of moving parts typically found in a Menoth list.

Let’s see how it goes!

I also have about 50-ish days to paint a battle engine, Colossal, Redeemer, Mechanik, and max Errants + UA…wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “Road to Templecon 2013: Getting my Hardcore list ready…”

  1. Just be careful about time my friend! When you are rolling all those fire effects it is on your time even though it’s the opponents turn. This only applies for Deathclock.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

