Rise of the Rearguard: I start my daliance with Hordes.

[Edit: I began writing this post awhile ago, but it fell into the great ether until I recently realized I had never  finished it. My bad.]

Yup, so soon after the Nova Open and in the last week of our Journeyman League, I broke out a Legion model.  It was mostly because I had had enough of painting black and gold and wanted to work out some color scheme ideas I had in my head.

I began with a light warbeast, the Nephlim Soldier, mostly because he has a lot of the elements that would be featured in the army.  But most of all, he was made of mostly flesh, something I don’t have a lot of experience with yet as Warmachine models tend to be mostly armor and whatnot save for the faces.  And with that I began with my first idea, the sunburst Legion of Everblight!

So bright, he'd have to wear shades...if he had eyes...
So bright, he’d have to wear shades…if he had eyes…

So one I worked…

While I liked the scheme, something about seemed off to me and try as I might to bring it back into something that hit those aestethic switches in the brain, I just couldn’t.  Even the chitin parts wouldn’t work, no matter what color it seemed I used (seen below is Coal Black, a blue-ish/green black).

The same scheme, except with darker shades of yellow/orange.
The same scheme, except with darker shades of yellow/orange.

I tried several other schemes variants including a more orange and red hue but I finally hit a wall of frustration.  I found it odd that I was already frustrated, not with the model, but the way it was coming out.   Not so much in the quality, but that the schemes were not hitting me as I wanted or as I had originally saw so vividly in my head for weeks.  I had formulated this yellow/orange/red scheme in my mind’s eye for several weeks (as I often do before ever putting brush to mini) and that made it harder for me to accept defeat.

As the Soldier sat in his Simple Green bath for what I think was the fifth time…I (re)noticed my Nyss Hunters on the shelf.

I love my Nyss Hunters, both on the table and the way they look/come out.  I had originally wanted to avoid blue Legion as I like to distance myself somewhat from the studio schemes, but Legion I think is one where they rally just nailed it.  The blue skin hues I think just work best.  And so I came with:

Rearguard Nephlim Soldier WIP
Rearguard Nephlim Soldier WIP

I think the ice blue skin color works wonders with the purples to create great effect.  I’m still a little undecided however on how best to do the chitin.  So far I’m thinking P3 Coal Black as the undercoat and then a mix of it and greys attempting a streak/stratification effect.  I tried it on my Kallus, but his plates are so small it really does nothing to show it off.  I think it worked on him, but again that is due more to their size rather than technique.

I’ve vowed that this army will not see the table until it is 100% painted as I have a habit of fielding 50-75% painted armies.  I’m only building this force to a Rearguard T4 theme force at 50 points (plus Kallus and some Incubi) so it shouldn’t take that long.  The rub is that I’ll be working on this army in between other projects, that than focusing on it just yet.  Below is the list I’ll eventually have done.  It’s basically one of everything you can take, save for warbeasts:

Faction: Rhyas – Rearguard (NQ36)
Points: 50/50
Tiers: 4
Rhyas, Sigil of Everblight (*6pts)
* Nephilim Soldier (5pts)
* Scythean (9pts)
* Typhon (12pts)
Blighted Nyss Swordsmen (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Blighted Nyss Swordsmen Abbot & Champion (0pts)
Blighted Ogrun Warmongers (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Blighted Ogrun Warspears (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Blighted Nyss Shepherd (1pts)
Succubus (2pts)
Warmonger War Chief (3pts)

One thought on “Rise of the Rearguard: I start my daliance with Hordes.”

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

