And now for something completely different: Relic Knights!

So this Relic Knights kickstarter has been the talk of our gaming group lately, and also of a great many of the blogging community that I follow.

I came across some of the Relic Knight models awhile ago and thought they were cool (they have a few at the store I play at) but I thought they were just like pin-up statue type things.  Now there is a game around it and a lot of our guys are excited about it.  It’s the kind of hype I’ve been looking for Infinity around here.

Well, their Kickstarter is only a few days from being over now and the amount of stuff you can get is amazing!  I’m getting together with Plarzoid and splitting one of the packs. I think it’s better to get two people 1 starter each so you have 2 players, rather than 1 player with 2 factions :).

Which faction am I going with?

I’ve decided to go with the Black Diamond.  The reasoning is that they look like a shooty faction.  Thus it would actually be different from all the melee centric Warmachine (and the Legion Rearguard I got brewin’) armies I tend to play.  Speaking of the other factions I was considering: Since Menoth has become my main squeeze, that automatically DQ’ed the paladin faction for me.  The Noh were actually my second choice however, because the models are really cool, but with the Rearguard list I’ve got in the queue, it’s almost the same idea (ninjas and Onis).  The pirates were the third choice, but I like some models but hate the others.  The other two factions I just don’t like enough of the models enough to field them.

I’m still debating getting the big Diamondback Armor.  It’s really awesome, but I’m worried about spending a lot on a game I’m not 100% I’ll like, know what I mean?

Very happy with my my faction choice.
Very happy with my my faction choice. Still debating that Diamondback armor though…

You can check out more faction shots here.  Anyone else getting into this? What do you plan on running?

Where’s the NoVA Open coverage and other posts?!

Sorry I haven’t reported much yet, I guess I’m still recoving from all the warmachinin’ over the weekend, and the Journeyman League that is ending this Sunday (I’m currently third in all three categories (games, hobby, total points), my best league showing yet), which has caused me to burn out on painting for a bit…more updates are coming I promise.

6 thoughts on “And now for something completely different: Relic Knights!”

  1. NO MORE GAMES!!!! AHHHHH!
    Seriously my wife will kill me, if I here amazing things about it and demo it, I would consider getting rid of one of my warmachine armies and getting a small army. But right now the market feels saturated, I feel sorry for anybody trying to get into this buisness. NO MORE GAMES!!!

    1. lol I hear ya! They only reason I’m giving it a shot is because I’ve recently been thinking about getting rid of one of my warmachine armies!

      I also agree that there are a ton of really cool looking new games out there and coming out that I’d love to play or give a shot, but with my limited time, Warmachine/hordes will always win out! Which I’m okay with as I love playing it so much!

  2. Got to agree with colemanzappa there are just too many games coming out, but damn it I want them all! It doesn’t help that I’m only just getting into Warmachine and have barely scratched the surface.

  3. I’m in the same boat being unsure if I’ll like it but the back of my brain keeps telling me I’ll regret not getting the models for cheap if I do like it. Stupid back of brain.

    1. Exactly why I am only going to go into the basic stuff and not get the Diamondback :/

      Looking at some of the cards though, it looks like you’ll only be able to have like 3-5 models on the table for 35 & 50 point games, which seems really low. I’ll have to look into the rulebook more about this, I may be wrong.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

