Journeyman League Painting Progress!

Vindictus with some Knights Exemplar
Vindictus with some Knights Exemplar

8 weeks down in our gaming group’s Journeyman/Slow Grow League, with about 5ish weeks left, and I wanted to share my latest progress with you.

In that time I’ve been able to paint up 76 points of Protector of Menoth, not including 4 warcasters so far.  By forwardkommander‘s collection tracker, it’s been about 37% of my Menoth force.  Not too shabby I think.  But although I know that 76 points seems like a lot, remember that it is made of mostly warjacks thus far.

This week has been one of my more productive ones in a few since the pre-painting month of the league.  I was able to finish one unit of Knights Exemplar (the metal version), a Knight Exemplar Seneschal, and warcaster Vice Scrutator Vindictus.  Vindictus is a recent purchase (picked him up at the same time as my Sanctifier),  but I thought he looked so cool, he shot to the front of the painting line.   I really like the way  he came out and I’ve already tried him in a friendly 25 point game this past weekend.  At first blush, I really like him and think he fits into my Exemplar themed Protectorate nicely.  True Path is ridiculous with Exemplar.

Read on for more pics (Thyra!)…

Thyra, Flame of Sorrow WIP
Thyra, Flame of Sorrow WIP

Last night after dinner, I found myself with some time on my hands while the wife was enthralled with the Olympics, so I got to work on another warcaster.  This time as you can see, it was Thyra, Flame of Sorrow!  As you know I love her and all the Daughters models and I plan on running her theme force at the Nova Open’s Tier Tournement, which I’ve already waxed philosophical about already.  While I still need more practice with it before the Open, I should at least have it fully painted by then which should be a huge boon.

I’ll be honest with you, I’ve actually been putting Thyra off because her model intimidated me.  It’s so small yet so detailed and intricate with tons of flowing cloth and filigree.  I really wanted some more practice with my metals before I did her because I didn’t want her coming out sloppy or “thick” looking.  But painting Vindictus emboldened me.

Safe to say I am pretty happy with the metals and her face.  Especially her face.  I think it is the best face I’ve painted thus far!  She only needs to have the cloth painted which could take some time as the red needs tons of layers to come out nicely and again her size makes it a little difficult to get into areas.

Up next after Thyra is more work on the Exemplar Errants.  I basically have almost two weeks to get a min unit and UA done at least as they factor into a couple of my 25 point and beyond lists.

What’s coming up on Miniature Armies, Huge Time Sink?

In the coming week or so, I’ll also be talking about some lists I plan to bring to the various tournaments going on at the Nova Open, musing much like my friend whitestar333 does at his blog, Steam Powered Gamer, and enlisting any and all feedback you may have.  Plus more (and better) painting pics [hopefully]!

EDIT: I just noticed in the pics…Basing is going to be done in batches.  Oh and I just noticed that the pics don’t have the Knights with their shoulder pads 😦  Rest assured I have them and they are on them now…

Gallery!

What’s done so far?

  • pKreoss
  • eFeora
  • Reznik
  • Vindictus
  • Crusader
  • Repenter
  • Avatar of Menoth
  • Reckoner
  • Vanquisher
  • Sanctifier
  • Choir of Menoth (min)
  • Wracks
  • Vassel of Menoth
  • Cinerators (max)
  • Knights Exemplar
  • Knights Exemplar Seneschal
Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

