First Cinerator done & Slow Grow Painting Schedule

The Burninator.
The Burninator.

Here’s the first of five Cinerators.  I really love these models.  And sorry for the kinda bad picture, the lighting is not what it should be at my place :/

I’m hoping to have the other four done by the weekend which will bring up to 25 points easily.

Points: 25/25
High Exemplar Kreoss (*5pts)
* Repenter (4pts)
* Crusader (6pts)
* Vanquisher (8pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Exemplar Cinerators (Leader and 4 Grunts) (8pts)
Vassal of Menoth (2pts)

This at least buys me a 6 week buffer (2 weeks @ battlebox games, 2 weeks @ 15 points, 2 weeks @ 25 points) since everything we play with is supposed to be painted. Then I can focus on the other Exemplar models in my queue, of which there are 24 + 1 Seneschal and Warcaster.  Oh and all the Daughters of the Flame models, of which there are 12 + 1 solo and warcaster.

I’ve noticed I have a low tolerance for painting units.  It seems like any more than four and I begin to hate them and they end up a sloppy mess.  Or unfinished (hello Iron Fang Pikemen).  I really want to avoid that with my Menites, so I think I will handle them with this recipe (hopefully for success):

  • 2-3 Exemplar.
  • 2-3 Daughters.
  • Repeat.
  • Sprinkle in a remaining warjack or warcaster as palette cleanser.

Handling it this way will take care of the two units of Knights Exemplar and Daughters of the Flame.  But that leaves 12 models of Exemplar Errants.  For those I’m going to try to the same thing but every third, squeeze in a solo that I have left, which is the Covenant, Vilmon, and a Paladin.  That should carry me through them.

Harbringer is last.  I really want to take my time on her.  She’s a definite centerpiece model, ever since I laid my eyes on her.

One thought on “First Cinerator done & Slow Grow Painting Schedule”

  1. Looking real nice, can’t wait to armor pierce that guy into oblivion. 😛

    Giving yourself a “reward” after a block of more tedious painting is a popular way to keep yourself on track. Do the 2-3 troopers, then a jack, then 2-3 more troopers, then a caster, so on and so forth. Personally I think it’s akin to easing your way into a cold pool (prolongs the suffering), but it’s worth a shot.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

