Open for Commissions!

Here is a small sample of some of my works.

I have a small sample price list below that you can take a look at…I can guarantee you a clean paint job; most definitely tabletop quality or even just a tad bit better.  I’d prefer to start with small orders first, like a Malifaux crew or Infinity unit, but we can work out details.

If you think you may be interested, you can shoot me an email to rocketpoweredpunch [at] gmail [dot] com and put something about commission in the subject line please, or you can use the contact form at the bottom of the About page.  We can negotiate price and whatnot depending on the order.  You can order the models through me (ie, tell me what you want and I’ll order it, paint it, then ship to you), I’ll just need more money upfront but the models will usually be 20-ish% off, or you can ship your existing models to me.  I’m flexible.

All this will be discussed via email, but the process will go a little something like this:

  1. Communicate through email what you want and price.
  2. Work out costs and shipping.  I’ll do half upfront and half due when models are completed.
  3. I get your models, take an inventory and send you a picture confirming.
  4. Paint those bad boys up.  I’ll send pics of progress to make sure all is cool.
  5. Final pics.
  6. Final payment sent.
  7. Models sent to you.

Oh and course it should go without saying, but color choices are all yours.  I don’t mind helping on that front if you’d like (I love alternate schemes).  I can do some custom work on bases and otherwise as well.  We can talk and I can let you know if I’m comfortable doing whatever it is.

Sample Price List (Prices are negotiable however, email for further details)

  • Warmachine
    • Small Bases Medium Bases Large Bases
    • Casters/Warlocks – $10 $11 $12
    • Solos – $8 $9 $10
    • Units – $5 per model $6 per $7 Per
    • Jacks/Beasts $12 $15
    • Battle Engines $30
  • Warhammer
    • Troops – $7
    • Small vehicles – $10
    • Large vehicles – $20
  • Malifaux – $8
  • Infinity – $8
  • Reaper– $7
    Various other models are priced according to size and detail.
  • Basing – $1+ (depends on how complicated you want to get)
  • Assembly – $1+ (mostly for battle engines or larger stuff, not always going to be charged for most things.  I am NOT going to charge you $1 to glue an arm on.)
3 thoughts on “Open for Commissions!”

  1. Interesting! Just remember the more commission work you take on, the less time you’ll have to actually paint your own miniatures.

  2. Looks good! I think you may be low-balling it a bit for assembling battle engines. If you need to clean, file, assemble, and greenstuff a battle engine, you’re easily looking at 2 hours of work. You don’t want to charge $1+ for that much work!

    Other than that, these prices look fairly close to what I’m asking, too. I’m not sure how long you take to paint minis, but, for me, I’m making around $2-$2.50/hr for heavy jacks and beasts when I charge $18. I’m certainly not doing this for the money, but it’s something to keep in mind.

    Based on your pricing, I’m assuming you’re not doing this as your sole means of income. That’s good! But since you’re doing this just for fun and to make a few extra bucks on the side, I would recommend that, once your business takes off, you start to be selective about what you paint. I know it might make you seem like a diva or something, but there’s nothing wrong with turning down a commission because the model/unit is boring and doesn’t excite you. It’s always most enjoyable just to paint models you like. If someone were to ask me to paint a max unit of Cygnar Trenchers, for example, I’d probably just politely say “Thanks, but I’ve got a lot of my own models and other commission models to paint, and I don’t think I’d be able to focus fully on those particular minis. But if you’ve got a Thunderhead that needs paint…”

    I don’t know what your current hobby supply situation looks like, but you may want to build into your prices that you’ll probably need to buy a few things along the way. Since doing commissions, I’ve had to pick up various weathering powders, a few paints I didn’t have, some varnishes, some basing materials, and other odds and ends. I don’t think I’m in the hole after adding all that in, but it’s certainly cut into my “profits” for sure.

    Like Mugu says, the more you take on, the less time you’ll have for your own stuff. Realistically speaking, I probably won’t be painting any of my own stuff until the summer. That’s kind of a bummer! But it’s always great to figure out a way for your hobby to pay for itself, especially when it’s an expensive one like this.

    Anyway — good luck! Can’t wait to see some of your first commission models!

    Andrew/SchnauzerFace

    1. I’ll keep all of that in mind. Thank you very much for your insight!

      Right now, the commission thing is only for extra side money to supplement my armies. I also like making things for people and there would be a certain kind of pride to paint something for someone and them showing it off or even trusting you to do so.

      Also, would love the extra practice.

Comments are closed.