The “Spoken Word” Batrep: Kommander Strakhov vs Thyra, Flame of Sorrow

What’s a “spoken word” battle report?  Well, it’s one without pictures.  Sorry.

Man o man, was it good to get back to playing some Warmachine last Thursday.  Due to the holidays, I hadn’t played in about a month.  I got a chance to finally play one of our LGS’s newest recruits, Jeff.  I believe Warmachine is Jeff’s first tabletop wargame as well, maybe being at it 2-3 months, so we are about the same level.  Jeff is on the side of Menoth, and his friend Danny, who joined at the same time, decided to go Cryx.

I stuck with what is quickly becoming my bread-and-butter list:

Ron (me)

Kommander Strakhov (*6pts)
* Beast-09 (11pts)
* Torch (10pts)
* War dog (1pts)
Great Bears of Gallowswood (5pts)
Iron Fang Pikemen (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Iron Fang Pikemen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Widowmakers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (4pts)
Widowmaker Marksman (2pts)

I hope I remember Jeff’s list correctly.

Jeff:

Thyra, Flame of Sorrow (*6pts)
* Blood of Martyrs (9pts)
Avatar of Menoth (11pts)
Choir of Menoth (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Daughters of the Flame (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Exemplar Errants (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
* Exemplar Errant Officer & Standard Bearer (2pts)
Exemplar Errant Seneschal (2pts)
The Covenant of Menoth (2pts)

Jeff made some great initial moves, with his Daughters essentially making my Widowmaker squad a useless 6 point sink.  I think they only got one shot off the whole game, and with the MAT that they have, they had a snowball’s chance in hell of hitting the Daughters with their swords.  Blarg.

This game, I popped my feat early.  If there is anything I’ve learned with this list is that you gotta play it aggressively.  So I sent my Torch barreling at the Blood of Martyrs, the Great Bears to the Avatar of Menoth (I know), and the Beast and Iron Fangs to the Errants.  It was tarpit vs. tarpit.   I actually learned two things from that exchange.  I get the big deal about Reach now.  All of the Errants weren’t in my Control Range, but through some positioning, the Iron Fangs were able to get all but 2 Errants tied up.  I also get the deal with Errants now.  Self-Sacrifice is a massive pain in the ass.   Forget about clearing charge lanes.  The Iron Fangs and Beast 09 clear out most of the errants however, Torch puts a massive hurting on Blood of Martyrs, leaving him with 6HP left, and the Bears put a massive dent in the Avatar.

Sadly, they do not survive.

One thing to remember when playing Thyra, she helps make her army scary accurate.  Between the Choir, Blood of Martyrs’ ability, and Carnage, his warjacks’ MAT was squarely in the range of LOLWUT.  Torch recieved a beating, losing all systems, minus 1 lone Cortex box (yessss).  The Widowmakers all die, and I lose a few Iron Fangs.  The big thing is that Thyra was able to charge Strakhov.  Ouch.  I thought it was game over man, game over…

…but somehow he survives yet another initial warcaster charge.  The guy has the luck of the Khadoran or something.  I blame my Wardog.  Everyone on the forums keeps telling me to drop him and use Sylys instead for the free upkeep, but that is never going to happen.  The wardog saved my life twice in this game alone!  I was able to walk out of combat with Thyra and with some use of Overrun, deliever a loaded and Superiority-ed Beast to Thyra’s face.

I win.

Let me tell you, I’m happy that this was the first game I played when I got back.  It was ca-ray-zee amounts of fun.  Just a real all out slug fest.  Thank you Jeff for such an awesome game.

Kommander Strakhov is triumphant!
Ok, one picture...
2 thoughts on “The “Spoken Word” Batrep: Kommander Strakhov vs Thyra, Flame of Sorrow”

    1. Haha yeah…I was so excited to finally play, I didn’t even think to bring my camera like I usually do.

      I was even debating whether to write this up or not, but figured it was such a fun game, what the hell 🙂

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

