Kommander Strakhov vs. Master Tormentor Morghoul

HOLD THE LINE!!!

I bring you a game that I played against Brendon (Plarzoid) and his Skorne a couple weeks back.

First let’s go to the lists!

Ron (me)

Points: 34/35
Kommander Strakhov (*6pts)
* Beast-09 (11pts)
* Torch (10pts)
* War dog (1pts)
Great Bears of Gallowswood (5pts)
Iron Fang Pikemen (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Iron Fang Pikemen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Widowmakers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (4pts)
Widowmaker Marksman (2pts)

Khador Deployment

Brendon (Plarzoid)

Points: 35/35
Master Tormentor Morghoul (*7pts)
* Cyclops Brute (5pts)
* Cyclops Savage (5pts)
* Bronzeback Titan (10pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
* Aptimus Marketh (3pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 5 Grunts) (3pts)
Praetorian Swordsmen (Leader and 9 Grunts) (6pts)
* Praetorian Swordsmen Officer & Standard (2pts)

Game time is GO!

Brendon wins the roll off and elects to go first. Brendon bricked up, while I went with my usual spread out/two fronts strategy.

Turn 1

The first turn is always the same.  Run, run, upkeeps, run, walk.  You know the drill by now.

Turn 2

Brendon

The Swordsmen ran again to tie up my Iron Fangs, Beast-09 and blocking in my Great Bears, causing a bit of a mess in the center of the field.  A great move on Brendon’s part I actually thought.  Sadly, one did not make it due to receiving a bullet to the medulla courtesy of my Widowmaker Marksman and Sentry.  The rest of his turn involved running and maneuvering into position.

Ron
With so much of my force gummed up by the Swordsmen, the only thing I could do was call a plumber to help unclog me.  Imagine my surprise when he suggested Axe 2 Face might work for me. The Great Bears had just enough reach over the barrels they were behind to chop-socky a few Swordsman. The one tying up Beast-09 began to regret his career choice.  Three more received free lobotomies, graciously donated by the Widowmaker Corps.  The remaining were made into kabobs by the Iron Fangs (isn’t Skorne into that sort of thing though?).  Oh, forgot one in the back survived…for  now.
With most of the Swordsmen wiped out and my army free to manuever again, I thought about laying some stuff down that might make Brendon’s counter attack a little more difficult.  Torch moves and popped a smoke bomb.  Strakhov moved and the War dog followed.  Strakhov found just a little opening between Torch, the smoke, and the Iron Fangs, which he used to cast Rift at the remaining Swordsman, killing him.

Turn 3

This is where things get a little iffy as Brendon and I kinda, sorta…stopped taking notes…

Brendon

Brendon pops his feat and a Bronzeback gets loaded up with as many buffs as possible and gets rocketed into my Iron Fangs.  Killing one and triggering Beat Back, he is able to move through my tightly clustered forces. He tags Torch and moves.  Strakhov is exposed! He swings at Strakhov but misses (Strakhov’s DEF is hovering around 18), he buys another attack and hits! Despite being POW 21, his dice betray him, only doing 9 DMG to Strakhov.  Yeah…Strakhov survives.  The remainder of the force moves into new positions.

Ron

ARRRGH…it’s falling about again!  DAMN YOU MOVEMENT SHENANIGANS!!!

I feat in a desperate attempt to take out Morghoul.  My Great Bears, Beast-09, Widowmakers, and Iron Fangs take out a good chunk of his force on their way to Morghoul, but unfortunately, none are able to land a hit on him.  I forget exactly what I do with Strakhov and Torch, but I know it isn’t much as I am still under the effects of Morghoul’s feat.  The Bronzeback is damaged but not nearly enough and Strakhov is still in his warpath…

Turn 4

Brendon

Do I even need to explain what happened?  Bronzeback buffed, buys, boosts, splats.

Ron

Smiles politely.

My Thoughts

Firstly, I utterly wasted Beast-09.  I absentmindedly moved him out of Strakhov’s control area, so he was starved for focus the whole game.  Brendon’s tarpit really put a damper on my guys advancing and his feat really hurt my counter-offensive, yet still I am in good spirits.  This game had the highest body-count (that wasn’t my own guys) I’ve ever had yet.  I thought I really had this one in the bag.   Oh well, live and learn.  Good game and great time was had regardless!

Enjoy the pics!

4 thoughts on “Kommander Strakhov vs. Master Tormentor Morghoul”

    1. Thanks! I’ll start winning soon enough once I get a better handle on my tricks and whatnot, I’m not too worried about that. As long as my force looks good, I’m good.

    1. Yes indeed. Also looking back, I could have used Overrun to get up in his face during my second turn and tie him up.

      Those are the types of things I need to work on when I play 🙂

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

