Strakhov vs Vyros

 Sorry for the delay but I forgot about this battle I had on Thursday.  I came up against Rusty and his Retribution again.  If you recall I’ve faced Rusty before, but this time he brought Dawnlord Vyros and an all melee force.  I stuck with the force I used against Brendon, hoping to correct some of the grievous mistakes I made with under utilizing my Iron Fang Pikemen and Destroyer.

Spoiler alert: I didn’t.

This is just a mess of infantry...

In the beginning, things were going ok.  I was spread out and weighing my options.  His Halberders were deeply entrenched and ARM 22, so there was no way I was going to get them with AOE damage.  I sent my Widowmakers around the back to pick off some of his guys with the Great Bears behind them.

In the beginning, things were going great.  He sent him Assassin forward, who did some damage on Torch, but afterwards, I charged her with the war dog and Strakhov, killing her, sprinting away and then popping my feat for the rest of the force.  The Great Bears cut through most of his Sentinels, clearing a path to Vyros, who was now in dangerous range to a charge next round.  Things were looking good for me…

How'd you get up here so fast?

So what’s Vyros doing all up in Strakhov’s grill? See my left side? The IFP, Destroyer, and Eiryss?  yeah, why’d I even bring them if I wasn’t going to use them?  Plus, I forgot completely about the 3″ LOS rules in forests, pretty much wasting my IFP.  Argh.  I’ll spare you the specifics, but the Halberders reach and through Vyros spell Mobility, he was in my face and hit me hard with some good rolls.  Fin.

Getting tired of seeing this...

Thoughts:  I still need to use my IFP better.  I am starting to think I am more equipped for a melee focused force as I really squander my range options (minus WMs).  My MVPs this game were clearly the Great Bears, followed by the Widowmakers.  I think I am getting the hang of some of the units. I just need more time with IFP.  All in all, another great game and learning experience!

Concerning my Menoth half of the battlebox, I’ve decided not to go with the Reznik theme force and go another route.  But another gentleman at the LGS is using one:

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

