Of kickball and army lists…

No real updates since I didn’t get to paint anything last night due to our first kickball game. Speaking of which, was actually a good time. It was pretty cool to be playing on the National Mall, sandwiched between the Washington Monument, the Capitol Building, and all the museums.  Also turns out that all of our team, minus my fiancee and our 2 friends, work pretty much in the building across from mine. Small world eh? Afterwards, we went to the bar and played some flip cup.  It was a team building exercise, ya know?

Playing kickball on the National Mall.
The politicians play games, so why can't we? (HIYOOOO!!)

But you don’t come here for my heart-pounding kickball commentary (or do you?), you come here for Warmachine! So let’s talk Warmachine. Or more specifically, my plans for the rest of the Slow Grow League. After this week we move up to 15 points, then to 25 and ending at 35 points in the weeks following.  Let’s have a gander at the lists I intend to bring and play at each of those levels.

Lists with pics and a whole lotta text after the jump…

I created all these lists using forwardkommander.com.

The next two weeks are going to be 15 point games so It gives me an extra 5 points to play with.

Points: 15/15

Torch (Official Privateer Press image)
Torch (Official Privateer Press image)

Kommander Strakhov (*6pts)
* Juggernaut (7pts)
* Torch (10pts)
* War dog (1pts)
Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (3pts)

The Decimator is getting switched out for Strakhov’s personal warjack, Torch.  Besides being my favorite looking warjack, Torch brings a lot to the table.  You may be curious why I’m getting rid of the Decimator after it’s superb performance last week and my fawning over it.  Torch still has the Ripsaw that I oh so love, but he also has an open fist and flamethrower. Remember I said I only ended up using the gun once? Well, Torch has a lot more options with attacks once I charge in (making the gun a moot point) and that flamethrower can hit any warcasters that may be trying to hid behind their warjacks.  I’m adding the War Dog as extra protection for Strakhov because like I said before, I play him close to the front, so any extra help in keeping him alive is appreciated. Plus he’s only 1 point.  Last but not least, is Eiryss.  Since most armies are going to consist of warjacks this level, I can use her Disruption Bolts to neuter the opposing warjacks.  She’s also my ranged option. Not a strong one, but if worst comes to worst and they rush her, that can also work in my favor…

Man-O-War Shocktroopers (Official Privateer Press Models)

Points: 25/25

Kommander Strakhov (*6pts)
* Torch (10pts)
* War dog (1pts)
Iron Fang Pikemen (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Iron Fang Pikemen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Man-o-war Shocktroopers (Leader and 2 Grunts) (6pts)
Widowmakers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (4pts)
Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (3pts)

25 points sees a bit of a shift for me from warjacks to more infantry.  I’m still keeping Torch and the War Dog, but added a slew of bodies to the field. The Shocktroopers are usually a defensive-type unit due to their low, low speed, but I’m hoping to hand deliver them to my opponents via the feat turn.  Next up, is the Iron Fang Pikemen. These guys are there to bust up some  ‘jacks on the charge. They are also going to be used as a tarpit unit should the need arise.  The Widowmakers are there to pick off any infantry and to be targets for Sentry.

Points: 35/35

Kommander Strakhov (*6pts)
* Juggernaut (7pts)
* Torch (10pts)
* War dog (1pts)
Iron Fang Pikemen (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
* Iron Fang Pikemen Officer & Standard (2pts)
Man-o-war Shocktroopers (Leader and 4 Grunts) (9pts)
Widowmakers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (4pts)
Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios (3pts)

Not too much changes to 35 points.  I just add back in the Juggernaut to the mix and up the Shocktrooper bodies on the field.

Iron Fang Pikemen (Official Privateer Press Models)
Iron Fang Pikemen (Official Privateer Press Models)

These lists were the most cost efficient for me (always a plus!) and I think give me a lot of options. At 50 points much later down the line, I’ll definitely be adding the Great Bears of Gallowswood and more than likely, Winter Guard infantry with Kovik Joe, Officer & Standard Bear, and a pair of Rocketeer attachments.

How do these sound? Got any suggestions of recommendations?

2 thoughts on “Of kickball and army lists…”

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

