Widowmaker!

My first ever miniature unit. But before I get into that, I just wanted to show this picture below to give anyone not familiar with miniatures a sense of scale of these things:

Yup, that is a quarter.

Yup, that is a quarter. Thanks to my lovely fiancee for being my hand model by the way.

I know I was supposed to wait for the Slow Grow league to begin but I wanted to have at least one unit attempted before then (partly because I couldn’t wait to give it a try). Plus practice makes perfect right? And I am aiming to get a really nice looking force, not some standard 3 color playable mass.

Well, on to the first unit, a Khador Widowmaker.

Bit of a rough start.

As you can see I got off to a bit of a rough start. The model had a very grainy texture, almost like sandpaper. It caused some of the paint to start to chip off. I did some posting on the forums and digging on the internet and found that this was more than likely due to the primer coat and humidity not getting along. So I followed Plarzoid’s post on stripping paint (always a helpful blog and ace looking models too) and started over.

He turned out alright. Not bad for a first try I think. The face was terrible I admit and at this close I admit it doesn’t look the cleanest.

They other side is a different story. I am actually pretty proud of how it turned out. I haven’t based him yet although I have an idea on how I am going to do the basing on on four of the Widowmakers already.  I am just waiting on some snow flock to come in (again at the end of September :/ ) so I can avoid that baking soda oxidation possible risk thing if at all possible.

Here’s another picture which I think looks cool.

The Slow Grow league starts this Saturday so I’ll have lots to report then. Also I will be able to get started on my warcaster, Kommander Strakhov and the rest of these Widowmakers.
Until then and as always, questions, comments, or critiques are always welcomed.

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

