Why Warmachine?

Welcome to my plog documenting my journey through painting miniatures and most things related to them (playing, etc.)

Well, first you may be wondering what exactly is Warmachine? The makers, Privateer Press, say it best:

“In WARMACHINE, the very earth shakes during fierce confrontations of Armageddon-like proportions. Six-ton constructs of tempered iron and steel slam into one another with the destructive force of a locomotive. Lead-spewing cannons chew through armor plating as easily as flesh. And a tempest of arcane magics sets the battlefield ablaze with such that the gods themselves fear to tread the tormented ground.
Victory shall favor the bold! So bring it on—if you’ve got the metal.
WARMACHINE is a fast-paced and aggressive 30mm tabletop miniatures battle game set in the steam-powered fantasy world of the Iron Kingdoms. Players take on the role of elite soldier-sorcerers known as warcasters. Though warcasters are formidable combatants on their own, their true strength lies in their magical ability to control and coordinate mighty warjacks—massive steam-powered combat automatons that are the pinnacle of military might in the Iron Kingdoms. Players collect, assemble, and paint fantastically detailed models representing the varied warriors, machines, and creatures in their armies. This is steam-powered miniatures combat, and your tabletop will never be the same!”

I guess I’ll should start with how I got into miniatures, and more specifically Warmachine. I am and  not very new to the whole tabletop war-gaming scene. Let me explain what I mean. Video games and comics were always my nerd outlets.  But I have had a fascination with the grim dark Warhammer 40K universe for a quite some time now. I would read the various wikis about it when I was bored, I’ve owned just about all of the Dawn of War games, even did a stint in Warhammer Online. But I never got into the tabletop game that inspired it all. I dunno, maybe it was the costs, or the fact I didn’t see them in stores that often.

Fast forward many years…

While surfing the ol’ interwebz one fine day, I came upon some pictures of a Khador Juggernaut and I’m thinking, “Damn, that looks badass.”  I do some more digging and find out it’s from Warmachine from Privateer Press.  When I saw it was a tabletop game, I was about to write it off and move on. Then I found the Battle College. It had pics and info on all of the units from Warmachine. Well crap. There went a good chunk of my day. So now I’m lurking on the forums and I’m blown away by the creativity and sheer awesomeness of a lot of people’s personal units. Now I’m thinking maybe I want to look into this for myself…

I happened upon a link concerning DC metro stores and events and I decide to chime in. Nothing big. Hi, I’m new. Never played, interested, blah blah…man, I was overwhelmed by the positive response. Invitations to google groups from players in the area flew in and the local Press Ganger, (forum name) Plarzoid, invited me down to Game Parlour in Chantilly for a demo game.

I checked out the game and met a lot of other players. The game itself was actually pretty fun too. Everyone there was also very friendly; discussing factions, showing me their models, and so on. I was hooked in. Luckily for me (not my wallet), Privateer Press was about to release a 2 player starter kit specifically geared towards people like me. The two factions it included were even the ones I was thinking of playing as…

Give me a piece of your mind (mmm your delicious, delicious mind...).

